SLIFF 2012 – Award Winners Announced

By  |  0 Comments

The Stella Artois poured freely (because it was free) at the Contemporary Art Museum in downtown St. Louis last night. It was the closing-night party for the 21st Annual Whitaker St. Louis International Film Festival where the slate of audience-choice and juried-competition winners were announced to an attentive crowd.


Best Narrative Feature: “The Sapphires,” directed by Wayne Blair

Best International Narrative Feature: “Quartet,” directed by Dustin Hoffman
Leon Award for Best Documentary Feature: “The Entertainers,” directed by Michael Zimmer 


New Filmmakers Forum Emerging Filmmaker Award (The Bobbie)

Winner ($500 cash prize): “Faith, Love and Whiskey,” directed by Kristina Nikolova
Special Jury Citation: “Sun Don’t Shine,” directed by Amy Seimetz

St. Louis Film Critics’ Joe Pollack Awards

Best Narrative Feature: “Barbara,” directed by Christian Petzold
Special Jury Citation for Acting in Narrative Feature: Rachel Mwanza, lead actress of “War Witch”
Best Documentary Feature: “Uprising,” directed by Fredrik Stanton
Special Jury Citation for Documentary Feature: “We Are Wisconsin,” directed by Amie Williams

Alliance of Womens Film Journalists’ EDA Awards

Best Narrative Feature: “Sister,” directed by Ursula Meier
Special Jury Citation for Narrative Feature: “Found Memories,” directed by Julia Marat
Best Documentary Feature: “Seeking Asian Female,” directed by Debbie Lum
Special Jury Citation for Documentary Feature: “The World Before Her,” directed by Nisha Pahuja

Interfaith Awards

Best Narrative Feature: “War Witch,” directed by Kim Nguyen
Best Documentary Feature: “The Second Execution of Romell Broom,” directed by Michael Verhoeven
Special Jury Citation for Documentary Feature: “Stories from an Undeclared War,” directed by Dennis Rice

Midrash Award

Winner ($500 cash prize): “Seeking Asian Female,” directed by Debbie Lum

Short Film Awards

Best of Fest Short: “Pitch Black Heist,” directed by John Maclean
Best Local Short: “Paper Hallways,” directed by Cody Stokes
Best Short Short: “Colosse,” directed by Yves Geleyn
Best International Short: “Friend Request Pending,” directed by Chris Foggin
Best Animated Short: “Luminaris,” directed by Juan Pablo Zaramella
Best Live Action Short: “The Voorman Problem,” directed by Mark Gill
Best Documentary Short:  “Female,” directed by Marie-Josee Saint-Pierre
Special Jury Citation for Documentary Short: “Boomtown,” directed by Torben Bernhard & Travis Low

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>